Brockport teachers receive Roy L. Bubb Award

Hill School Teacher Justin Jackson and Barclay Teacher Kelly Young were both awarded with the Mr. Roy L. Bubb School-Based Elementary Teacher Educator Award at the October 19 Board of Education meeting. Justin was the 2020 recipient and, due to COVID-19, was presented with the award during the recent board meeting. Kelly is the 2021 recipient.

Justin and Kelly were recognized for their outstanding work as elementary school teachers who had supervised a Brockport teacher candidate during the candidate’s student teaching experience. The award recognizes their exemplary teaching performance and their establishment of a teaching- learning environment where student teachers are welcomed, supported, advised and mentored in a way that prepares them for success as a classroom teacher. Congratulations Justin and Kelly!